top of page
  • TPGA

Governor's Disaster Declaration Triggers Hours Suspension for Select Texas Counties

The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) Hours of Service waiver expires at 11:59 PM tonight, Wednesday, May 22, 2024, but we have a fallback.

The Governor has issued a disaster declaration for the following select counties due to severe storms in April and May, which can be used in lieu of an explicit DPS waiver.

Pursuant to 49 CFR 390.23, an emergency declaration issued by the Governor of a state automatically triggers the suspension of hours of service limitations set forth in 49 CFR 395.3 for 14 days if providing direct assistance to the affected counties.

The affected Texas counties are Anderson, Angelina, Austin, Bandera, Bastrop, Baylor, Bell, Bexar, Blanco, Bosque, Brazos, Brown, Burleson, Burnet, Caldwell, Calhoun, Chambers, Cherokee, Clay, Coleman, Colorado, Comal, Concho, Coryell, Delta, DeWitt, Dickens, Eastland, Ellis, Falls, Fayette, Freestone, Galveston, Gillespie, Gonzales, Gregg, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hamilton, Hardin, Harris, Haskell, Hays, Henderson, Hill, Hood, Houston, Hunt, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Karnes, Kaufman, Kendall, Kerr, Kimble, Knox, Lamar, Lampasas, Lavaca, Lee, Leon, Liberty, Limestone, Llano, Madison, Mason, McCulloch, McLennan, Medina, Menard, Milam, Mills, Montgomery, Nacogdoches, Navarro, Newton, Orange, Panola, Polk, Robertson, Rusk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, San Saba, Shelby, Smith, Somervell, Sutton, Tarrant, Travis, Trinity, Tyler, Van Zandt, Walker, Waller, Washington, Wichita, Williamson, and Wilson Counties;

The Texas Governor's disaster declaration was issued on May 20, 2024, and hours will be waived 14 days thereafter while responding to these affected counties.

Please note: Even if an Emergency Declaration is still in effect, the emergency must be on-going and you must be providing direct emergency assistance in order to be exempt from hours regulations.

0 views0 comments


bottom of page